The Glorious Legacy: A Historical Overview of NHL Awards

KirillS / Shutterstock

In the world of professional hockey, the National Hockey League (NHL) has been at the forefront of recognizing and honouring outstanding players and achievements since its inception in 1917. Over the years, the NHL has introduced a variety of awards to celebrate excellence in different facets of the game. In this blog post, we will delve into the rich history of NHL awards, tracing their origins and highlighting some of the most prestigious honours in the sport.


The Stanley Cup 

The globally renowned and revered Stanley Cup has a storied history dating back to 1892. Originally commissioned by Lord Stanley of Preston, the Governor General of Canada, the Cup was intended to be awarded to Canada’s top amateur hockey team. However, in 1926, the NHL took over sole control of the Cup, solidifying its position as the ultimate prize in professional hockey. Since then, the Stanley Cup has become synonymous with the pinnacle of achievement in the sport, showcasing the resilience, teamwork, and skill required to claim victory. It has witnessed countless memorable moments, celebrated the triumphs of legendary teams and players, and remains an enduring symbol of excellence and sportsmanship in the realm of hockey.


The Hart Memorial Trophy 

In 1924 the Hart Memorial Trophy, named after Dr. David Hart, one of the league’s founding fathers, was introduced. The trophy was initially intended to recognize the player deemed the most valuable to his team. In its early years, the Hart Trophy went to players who exhibited exceptional leadership and skill. Arguably the most prestigious of all NHL awards, the Hart Memorial Trophy continues to be awarded annually to the league’s Most Valuable Player (MVP). Over the years, hockey icons like Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, and Sidney Crosby have etched their names into history by receiving this esteemed honour.


The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Established in 1925, the Lady Byng Memorial trophy is one of the oldest and most esteemed awards recognizing outstanding sportsmanship in the NHL. Named after Lady Byng of Vimy, a prominent figure in Canadian sports, the trophy is awarded annually to the player who demonstrates integrity, respect for others and good manners on the ice, along with a high standard of playing ability. Lady Byng was known for her passion for sportsmanship and fair play, and the trophy was introduced to honour those who exemplify these qualities in the competitive and professional world of hockey. 


The Expansion of Awards

As the NHL expanded and evolved, so did its recognition of excellence. In 1927, the Vezina Trophy was established to honour the best goaltender, inspired by the legendary Georges Vezina, goaltender of the Montreal Canadiens from 1910 to 1925. 

The Calder Memorial Trophy, named after the first president of the NHL, Frank Calder, was created in 1933 to recognize the best rookie, then in 1953, the Norris Trophy was introduced to honour the league’s top defenseman. The Norris Trophy was named after the longtime owner of the Detroit Red Wings, James E. Norris, and has recognized the likes of legends such as Bobby Orr, Ray Bourque, and Nicklas Lidström, all whom have displayed exceptional defensive skills and contributed significantly to their teams’ successes. 

In 1965 the Conn Smythe Trophy was introduced and was awarded to the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Named after Toronto Maple Leafs’ owner and manager Conn Smythe, this award has been bestowed upon hockey legends like Wayne Gretzky and Sidney Crosby.


The Selke Trophy

In 1977 the Selke Trophy made its debut, celebrating the league’s best defensive forward. Named after Frank J. Selke, former general manager of the Toronto Maple Leafs as well as the Montreal Canadiens, players who excel in both scoring and defensive responsibilities, such as Steve Yzerman and Patrice Bergeron, have earned this prestigious honour.


The Rocket’s Legacy

One of the most iconic names in the history of the NHL, Maurice “Rocket” Richard, inspired the creation of the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy in 1998. This award is presented annually to the league’s leading goal scorer. Richard’s explosive scoring ability and charisma on the ice left an indelible mark on the league, making this award a fitting tribute to his legacy.


Recent Additions

In recent years, the NHL has continued to acknowledge outstanding performance in various aspects of the game. The Jack Adams Award recognizes the NHL’s top coach, the King Clancy Memorial Trophy celebrates leadership on and off the ice, and the Mark Messier Leadership Award underscores exceptional leadership qualities. Additionally, the William M. Jennings Trophy is awarded to the goaltender that allows the fewest goals in the season, while the Presidents’ Trophy goes to the team with the best regular-season record.



The history of NHL awards is a testament to the league’s commitment to recognizing excellence in the sport of professional hockey. From its humble beginnings with the Hart Trophy in 1924 to the diverse array of awards available today, these accolades serve as a testament to the skill, dedication, and sportsmanship exhibited by the NHL’s finest players and contributors.

As the league continues to evolve, so too will its awards, ensuring that future generations of hockey players and fans have their own heroes and legends to celebrate. Whether it’s the thrill of witnessing a Rocket Richard Trophy-winning goal scorer or the defensive prowess of a Norris Trophy recipient, NHL awards continue to capture the essence of what makes this sport so beloved by fans within Canada and around the world.

Discover a diverse selection of trophies and awards at Trophymade, perfect for recognizing and celebrating the outstanding achievements of individuals at your hockey club throughout the season. Utilize our innovative online TrophyMaker tool to effortlessly personalize trophies with your club’s logo and athlete’s information in just a few clicks. Explore now and let us contribute to making your upcoming awards ceremony truly memorable.


Shop Online Today

15% Off Your First Order?

Fill in the details below and we'll email you your discount code.